if it were meant to be.

as a dreamer, i have a terrible tendency to spend too much of my time imagining the near future and hoping for wonderful things, and as a consequence life often doesn’t live up to my expectations or wild fancies. but i can honestly say this one is a dream come true. thank you thank you divine universe! life could not be more peachy perfect right now. everywhere i go i am met with kindness and generosity, friends are falling from the sky, and everything that happens is as if it were meant to be.

my first five days with Alex’s family were wonderful. they took me for fancy lunches in vineyards, and sunset walks along ashen beaches, and galloping on horseback up to the tops of the hills.  most of all they made me feel safe and at home, so i could be ready to journey on alone, and for all these things i am grateful.

IMG_6029
final morning. Kitty cuddled me all night it was the best ever. 

i got a lift down to Wellington with this awesome and extremely generous guy, also called Alex, who i am very grateful to have met. Alex lives in Wellington and has travellers sleeping on his couch most nights, and so is a well-practiced tour guide. upon arriving in Welly that evening, he took us up to the lookout on Mount Victoria just before dropping me off at a backpackers. from there you can see a breathtaking 360 degree view of the entire city. i always do like arriving in new places at night; you get this vague and shadowy first impression, and then are able to wake up and see it all transformed in the light of the next day. it was truly magical to see the wide expanse of twinkling lights; the city shrouded in mystery, and waiting there for me, morning come, to explore.

Alex dragged me along to a gig later that night with his friends. i didn’t expect to be dancing and making friends and partying till 2am on my very first night, it was fantastic. i had been nervous about finding friends and things to do in Welly, but this gave me a lot of confidence about settling in and enjoying myself here. since then he’s been inviting me along to all kinds of things, like volunteering at a horse riding school, and offered me his couch to sleep on. he just seems to be taking care of me and making sure i’m having fun in this city. what a guy.

on my first day here i was exploring the main boulevard, cuba st, and a pretty boy smiled at me. i saw his cardboard sign that read “free hugs”, so of course i ran over and gave him two. his name was Francesco.  when i asked him why he was doing it he told me he’d had a bad day and wanted to cheer himself up by helping everyone else to be happy as well. i think thats beautiful. i thought, fuck it, i’ve always wanted to do this, and so i joined in with him for the next half hour. and it was marvellous.

yesterday Francesco and I met up again with a few strangers we’d hugged the day before, and did it all over again. so many people of all kinds stopped for hugs. we were met with so much enthusiasm, and even those who were too shy would give us a smile or a high five. by the end of the afternoon of hugging passers-by my cheeks were hurting from smiling so much and i felt positively giddy. i have witnessed and received so much kindness and generosity recently, it felt good to give and to pass the love on.  

currently i am staying with Jeffrey, my cuz once-removed, and great auntie Carroll. once again, i am moved by the wonderful way they are looking after me. it’s really nice hanging with Jeff, he’s a great guy, and getting to know this side of the family.

i have a job interview tomorrow at the intercontinental hotel. fuck. i don’t actually remember applying… 

so life is pretty good. i have been throwing myself at every single opportunity that presents itself, without hesitation, and so far it’s working cause i have no regrets. seriously, if you’re not enjoying your life enough, grow some balls and just go for it, don’t think about it just go for everything that’s out there, amazing things will happen. 

i am in awe of this wonderful world.

love you all. 

Yaramin xx

 

Leave a comment